Headlines for Sunday February 4th 2018

Illinois lawmakers will consider legislation to allow county jail inmates to
vote in elections. The bill, HB 4469, specifically directs Illinois county jails to allow eligible inmates to vote by mail. It would also establish a temporary polling place inside the Cook County jail. County jails would also be required to provide eligible inmates with a voter registration application upon their request and upon their release. The Illinois Department of Corrections, county jails and probation offices would also have to make available current resource material on voting rights.

Southern Illinois University says its spring enrollment fell 8.8 percent this year compared to last spring. Numbers released by the university show that the school’s enrollment is about 13,350 students this spring compared with about 14,640 last spring. The Southern Illinoisan reports Friday that SIU Chancellor Carlo Montemagno says the decline was expected. He says in a statement that new students don’t typically enroll in the spring and some students graduate in December. He says that “enrollment is our primary focus as we revitalize SIU” and that the school is working on proposals that “will create excitement and opportunities for students as well as faculty.” Fall enrollment also fell at SIU. Enrollment for the 2017 fall semester dropped nearly 9 percent compared to the previous year.

The 96th annual meeting of the Wayne County Farm Bureau will be held on Thursday, March 22, 2018, at the First Christian Church, 100 West Center Street in Fairfield, IL beginning at 6:00 p.m. The business meeting will include approval of the minutes of last year’s annual meeting, treasurer’s report, acts and deeds of the board, selection of delegates to the 2018 Illinois Farm Bureau annual meeting, President’s report, Manager’s report, affiliate reports, amendment to the bylaws, and any other business that may properly come before the membership. Elections will be held in the following districts:

District 2 – Zif, Elm River & Jasper Townships – Fred Blessing

District 4 – Barnhill Township – Anthony Vaughan

District 6 – Bedford, Lamard, & E  Keith – Robert Pearce

District 8 – Four Mile, Arrington, & Orel – Timothy Chambliss

At-Large – All Wayne County – Randy Ellis