Headlines for Wednesday, April 3rd

The Illinois Sheriff’s Association has announced the 2019 Officer Safety and Scott’s Law Safety Initiative. From April 12th-19th, sheriffs across the state will participate in a traffic awareness campaign specifically aimed at Scott’s Law and distracted driving violators. Sixteen law enforcement officers have been hit while conducting traffic stops on the side of the road this year.

27-year-old Parkersburg resident Tyler L. Hatcher was booked in the Wayne County Jail yesterday afternoon. He had been arrested in Richland County on a Wayne County warrant for failure to appear in court on a charge of DUI. Hatcher’s bond for the warrant was set at $595.

A new support group will be starting in Mt. Vernon later this month for people suffering from PTSD, traumatic brain injuries, or other life altering injuries. The support group will meet on April 23rd at 6 p.m. at the Mt. Vernon Christian Fellowship Church, and it is expected to meet each Tuesday in the same setting.

The FCHS Varsity Scholastic Team is sponsoring the 14th annual Mind Bowl Trivia Night tomorrow evening at 6:30 in the school’s Multipurpose Room. The fee to enter a team is $50, and teams should consist of five members. All proceeds will help defray expenses for the team’s trip to National Competition.

Approximately 13 percent of registered voters participated in yesterday’s consolidated election in Wayne County. Brett Coale, Tyler Lampley, Jerry Lisenbee, and Gary Moore were elected to the four open Fairfield City Council seats. Races for North Wayne and New Hope School Board seats could be impacted by mail-in ballots, as well as other county totals.


City of Fairfield

Ward 1 –Brett Coale (136 votes), Mike Pottorff (76 votes)

Ward 2 – Tyler Lampley (135), Sheila Zurliene (30)

Ward 4 –Gary Moore (179), Ed Prince (69)

Village of Cisne

Unexpired Two-Year Term as Village Trustee

Jim Cook (39), Gary McInnis (15)

Village of Mt. Erie

Village Trustee – Three Seats

Jerald Hubble (12), Kenneth Renshaw (12), Bryan Greifzu (11), Kyle Pipher (0)

Village of Wayne City

Library Trustee – Three Seats

Darline Koker (43), Kimberly Dickey (42), Deborah Young (31), John Little (3)

New Hope CCSD 6 Board – Three Seats – Wayne and White Counties

Ryan Duckworth (142), Derek Smothers (129), Ryan Green (109), Rhonda Clark (98), Cameron Simpson (97)

Fairfield Public School District 112 – Three Seats

Scott Foster (514), Amy Sager (501), Angela Koontz (433), Gene Kollak (359), Lynde Hickox (274)

North Wayne CUSD 200 – Three Seats

Brian Keck (222), Earl (Sonny) Smith III (166), Steven Harrison (113), Terry Hall (111), Jim Cook (107)

FCHS District 225 – Three Seats

Chris Miller (801), Anthony Conrad (573), J.C. McDuffee (573), Shane Neuman (428), Sherry Barnfield (331)

Edwards County saw a just under 25 percent voter turnout yesterday. Incumbents Terry Harper and Gary Mason were re-elected to seats on the Albion City Council. In the Edwards County voting for Grayville Mayor, Andy Brock had a one-vote lead over Travis Thompson; Thompson carried White County by over 30 votes, however, and he has won the election. The Edwards County School Board saw a tight race that couldn’t be officially called, as only two votes separate Jo Rector and Steve Hnetkovsky for a seat.


City of Albion

Ward 1 – Terry Harper (90), Dennis Turpin (43)

Ward 2 – Gary Mason (63), Michael McMahel (17)

City of Grayville – Edwards and White County Votes


Travis Thompson (203), Andy Brock (173)

Village of West Salem

Village President

Daniel Baker (162), Jon Webber (81)

Village Trustee (Full-Term) – Three Seats

Reid Lauderman (171), Steve Miller (155), Dan Jackson (143), Glenna Hunley (101)

Village Trustee (Unexpired Two-Year Term)

Michael Ristvedt (181), Donny Kackmus (59)

Edwards County CUSD 1 Board of Education – Four Seats

Brian Mewes (674), Andrew Spray (628), Richard Wolfe (571), Jo Rector (527), Steve Hnetkovsky (525)

Congratulations to the Wayne City FFA Livestock Judging team. The team took home 4th place in yesterday’s Section 23 Livestock CDE, held at Richland County Fairgrounds in Olney.

Fairfield Public School District 112 will hold kindergarten registration at North Side School from April 23rd through the 26th. No appointment is necessary. For parents with a child already enrolled in Pre-K at North Side, the district says they will receive a packet at school, and parents do not need to attend the registration.

Flooding worries will stick around through at least the end of May in Illinois. The Illinois State Climatologist’s Office says there is a 33 percent chance for April rain numbers to be above normal, and the damp conditions could extend through June. Much of Illinois has seen above average precipitation since last fall, and flood warnings continue for the Mississippi River continue throughout Illinois.

Governor J.B. Pritzker has signed legislation for a new parole system for young offenders. Pritzker created a mid-sentence parole consideration process for those who were younger than 20 when convicted. Consideration may occur after 10 years of incarceration for most crimes, though more serious crimes, such as first-degree murder, may not be eligible until at least 20 years.

River stages as of this morning:  Little Wabash, east of Fairfield stands at 22.38 feet, above the 17 ft. flood stage. Meanwhile, the Skillet Fork at Wayne City has a reading of 7.21 feet (flood stage is 15 ft.). The Little Wabash below Clay City is at 20.11 feet (flood stage is 18 ft.).